The Universe will provide

On 7th Jan Sarah and I escaped the sub zero temperatures for some much needed r & r in sunny Gambia. Of course I also wanted to see how the house was progressing. After a promising start we have had a number of set backs, the latest is that our builder Paul recently suffered a stroke. He is now back in Holland and we wish him a speedy recovery. This left us with a dilemma – where to find another builder to finish the house? After an inspection of the remaining work with David it became apparent that what we needed most was a carpenter.
Now on the flight out to The Gambia, involving a coach ride to Stanstead, a lack of plane de-icer, a lost hat and much queuing, I sat next to the lovely Janette. In the window seat was a newly acquired friend of hers called Julian. Janette and I exchanged contact details but I knew I would struggle to get up to see her as we were only out there for a week. However whilst I was enjoying massage (I know hard life) Janette and Jules turned up with Colin and little Alex. Not only was it great to see them but it turns out that Jules has a carpentry business with the talented Papamodou. So work resumes and will be completed in the next few weeks!
The Universe truely does provide!!!!!!
Jules & Papamodou

2 Responses to “The Universe will provide”

  1. Ernie Brooke Says:

    Hi, I take my hat off to you and wish you well in your new home in The Gambia. I bought ready built and decided to improve by fitting a UK kitchen etc. Therefore I decided to buy a container and ship to Gambia. All went very well with no problems. We went in January to complete and looks really amazing. We go there again next week 6th April for a couple of weeks, this time to enjoy the fruits of our labours. We are not far away from you at Sanyang. Perhaps at some point we can meet up and share our experiences.

  2. joredwin Says:

    Hi Ernie
    Good to hear from you. I hope you have had a good trip out to the Gambia and enjoyed the fruits of your labours! Unfortunately having just finished Sunbird House we are having to sell it. I am just about to post details so if you know anyone looking to buy………….
    I love The Gambia and have many friends there but my husband and I are separating and we cannot afford to hang onto it any longer.
    Wish you all the best and lots of happy times in Gambia.

Leave a Reply

